Selmer 10S and Buffet R-13: an explication

Dear Mr. Friedland,

I own a Selmer 10 S. I have played it profes. For 30 yrs. I use a selmer HS** It has a nice easy open sound. A couple of yrs ago I bought a Buffet R13. I think I know your feelings about the R13, but I wondered why it (R13) didn’t blow as easy as the Selmer? On the selmer the sound is effortless, but with the Buffet I have to think about what I am doing. Any thoughts? Thank You. D S

Dear D.S.

Thank you for your question concerning your Selmer 10S and the Buffet R13 you purchased.

I would first like to qualify ” feeling about Buffet”. They can be beautiful, lovely and a pleasure to play. The problem is that nobody I know or have known owns and play buffet without rather extensive choices being made, from the initial purchase to the tuning and voicing work on the instrument after purchase. For years, it was the instrument of choice of many players, choice being the operative word here. They are and were terribly inconsistent from one to another, if you will recall Anthony Gigliottis statement that ” I tried 55 Buffet Clarinets each year, and out of those chose two. These I gave to Hans Moenig for tuning and adjustment. One I would play in the orchestra, the other I would give to a student”. He was the Principal Clarinet of the Philadelphia Orchestra.

The above is part of my impression of the Buffet clarinet, regardless of model. There are so many purported R-13s around that the other day I had a fellow ask if his Evette-Schaefer was an R-13.

The selmer 10-s happens to be my clarinet of choice and has been for the last several years. I bought it from a fellow in Europe who had gone there to play and found more receptivity to the Buffet clarinet. Whatever the reason, when it finally arrived I was very surprised at its quality.It had been tweaked by someone and the upper joint had all cork pads which were slightly beveled, supposedly for better projection and white leather pads in the lower joint. It came with a very sturdy case, with two barrels, was silver plated, and in general I was and am quite happy with this Selmer 10S.
I have purchased on consignment several other clarinets, and found them all good, but not quite as even and in tune as this 10S

I also play and espouse clarinets made from hard rubber, as the material is much more stable, easier to machine, does not crack and is much less expensive than any french grenadilla clarinet.

Your experience has all or nothing to do with the two different clarinets of which you speak. If one is familiar with a certain mouthpiece on a certain clarinet,trying another instrument of a different construction may or may not feel either stuffy or free and open. It has a lot to do with the reed you are using as well as the mouthpiece, as well as the clarinet and its condition. You play one instrument, become familiar with it, and trying another will feel different,no question. How you judge the difference has everything to do with you, your embouchure, mouthpiece and reed, on a particular day.

I hope this helps .
stay well, sherman

One Response to Selmer 10S and Buffet R-13: an explication

  1. Ion Buldumea says:

    mai putina alegere, si mai mult professionalism, pentru a face, c-a instrumentul sa sune la nivel inalt.

Leave a comment