Beethoven, Opus 11, C clarinet with Forestone

On Sunday September 23, we played a concert of Chamber Music, and my piece was the Beethoven, Opus 11. Now, everyone knows and has played this piece many times. It is early Beethoven, closer to Haydn, like much early Beethoven, and has a lovely little cadenza for the piano and a terrific set of Variations for the ensemble, based upon a funny forgotten tune from a un-named opera. It is ideal for just about any concert with this ensemble, always works, and is not difficult to rehearse.But,on Sunday, we played it using the C Clarinet and if anything can make the sound of the ensemble better, and more in tune, it is the C Clarinet . It gives me constant pleasure and I still insist that this clarinet is better naturally in tune than is the Bb. It is simply fun to play. Finally, I played it with the very same Forestone reed upon which I played last May 6th. There is the most salient point I would like to make. All of my life, I have been like you: very picky on reeds, preparing excessively for any concert, changing reeds at the last minute, and wondering constantly if I have chosen the best reed, mouthpiece, and even clarinet,for the concert. I have spent years looking for reeds, saving them, shaving and cutting them,even making them, being completely paranoid about them, and truly never satisfied. But also, I have discovered that any fine reed is excellent, any synthetic reed is preferable to cane, as long as it falls within the parameters of your choice of sound , tuning, mouthpiece and of course, instrument. Without advertising, I have found Forestone to be the reed I prefer, but I think in actuality, I could play on any synthetic. Friends, you do not have to wet them, to soak them to watch them unfurl and become playable. They are ready, anytime you pick them up. There! I have said it! eave the synthetic on the mouthpiece . You can do this most safely. I have myself for many months. My C is not an expensive instrument. It is a good grenadilla instrument with silver-plated keys and I rely on it, and its sound and tuning are well within my ability to play in tune. Yes,it is an Amati, and I do recommend the C clarinet. Mouthpiece is a Gregory Smith, refaced by Richard Hawkins, and I must say, the refacing made the mouthpiece truly excellent. Mouthpieces, clarinets, ligatures vary, and yes, but,limiting the variables during a concert is most important. Life is too short to sit around all day ,picking anything. Keep practicing , and stay well.
sherman

Leave a Reply

