And a Third Prize in Solfeggio (a letter from Peter Moleux)

Thanks Sherman!
My father, who was born in 1900, had three wives over his lifetime. His first wife was a lady in France and I believe that they had one son (but I never confirmed that). I believe that they divorced but I never found any paperwork. He married my mother in 1933, they had only one son (me) born in 1945 but they divorced sometime around 1962-3. we lived in Newton, Massachusetts. I have a son and a daughter. My son actually has the clarinet that my father used in Paris. After his marriage to my mom ended, he married Sandra Lee Robinson, as you mentioned, and they moved to Marshfield, MA. He passed away from cancer in 1966. By the way, his third prize that he received from the Paris Conservatory of Music was for Solfeggio. My father helped start and taught double bass at the Tanglewood Music Festival. My father was very close to Serge Koussevitsky and his funeral took place at the same location as did Koussevitsky’s. My mother, Naomi, was very close to Leonard Bernstein’s mother who invited her to attend the John F Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, in Washington, public debut on September 8, 1971. There she met Michael Tilston Thomas. My parents were also close to Lou (Gino) Cioffi, Tiny (Leslie) Martin (a jazz bassist) at the BSO, Aaron Copland, and others at the BSO, Boston Conservatory of Music (where he taught) and, of course, the New England Conservatory of Music. There are many names that I remember but it was so long ago that its hard to connect with them. This is my first time dealing with a blog. I hope that this information helps and, at least, gives a better (but not complete) picture of my father’s private life. Thanks for your comments!

Best regards,

Peter

(Actually, Peter, this is a precious part of my younger life and I am very grateful. All of the names are familiar to me. And Buell Neidlinger, who played in the BSO was a student of your father,a colleague of mine and a dear friend of my wife and I, from Buffalo Days (1964-66). Thank you for your comments. Sherman)

Leave a Reply

