Legere, The Ontario Cut, by far closest to flexible cane

This posting is actually an addendum to my other posting concerning this interesting product which has made great inroads into the world of reed instruments. I have done several long tests with the ordinary cut, the Quebec cut and now the Ontario cut.

Although all of these reeds will give you a good response, both the normal and the Quebec cut are not as  flexible the Ontario cut, in my opinion.

Readers may know that I have been using the Richard Hawkins “R” mouthpiece because it plays quite beautifully and also because he is an excellent clarinetist, a professor at Oberlin who has many fine sound clips all made with Legere reeds….. and he sounds quite lovely. 

So, my motive was to achieve what he has achieved with this same reed. Hawkins more than proves the quality of the reed, but I myself was unable to achieve it. Until I played these Ontario reeds. They are a bit shorter and much more flexible than are any of the other Legere reeds and I feel that with this Hawkins mouthpiece, I have come as close as I need to in order to play any of the repertoire utilizing this Ontario Cut Legere reed. It has been in existence for several years and I did prefer them when first I was sent a few, however it was not until recently that I was able to buy some that I was able to fully test  and with this Hawkins mouthpiece. They also play with my Gennusa mouthpieces, however staccato seems easier to perform with that special articulation that I like to use so much as in that middle section of the Debussy Rhapsody, the change in tempo and mood toward the middle of the work.(Actually my staccato is based on Hamelins early recording of the piece.) The Hawkins mouthpiece allows me to play exactly as I would with cane. I purchased the strength #3 and that seems perfect. The Ontario reed has three dots on the butt of the reed and I believe that it will be in greater usage as soon as they become more available.The tip is actually thinner than other Legeres allowing for more flexibility.

Congratulations, Legere!

 

Sherman Friedland

 

 

Sherman Friedland

Leave a Reply

