Clarinet Methods

Dear Sir,

I’m from Singapore, 40 years old. I started learning to play the
clarinet with a teacher a few months ago. We use the book,
“Progressive Clarinet Method” by Andrew Scott. I have completed
the book. My teacher does not have a recommendation as to which
book I should use to continue from where Mr. Andrew Scott has
left. Unfortunately, in Singapore, there are so few clarinettists,
clarinet teachers, and clarinet books. While surfing the net, I
came across your article, “Clarinet Solo Preparation: A Course of
Study and a Review of Recommended Solo Literature”. If you do not
mind, I would like to seek your recommendation for a book that I
could logically and progressive learn where Andrew Scott has
stopped, please. I am NOT looking for a band method book.

These are the notes that I learned from “Progressive Clarinet
Method”: A, B, C, D, E, F, G, Low A, Low G, F#, Low F, Bb, Low E,
Bb on the middle line, B in the middle register, and C in the
middle register.

Thank you

There are many, many clarinet study books to which you can turn
your attention; however by far the best is the Klose (pronounced
close-ay) from the standpoint of both material and availability
(of importance to you). It comes in many versions and abridgments,
so I would advise that you attempt to purchase the “Complete
Method for the Clarinet” by this author. It is most comprehensive
and includes material for the very beginner, well in to the
interest of the advanced player. There are also many duets,
progressively written which will be of great benefit to you if you
can find another teacher or a clarinet student with whom to play.
The complete Klose also usually includes the Kroepsch Studies, a
set of difficult execution studies that you should play and/or
practise always very slowly, even though they are written in 16th
notes.

Singapore must have a symphony orchestra of sorts. Look there for
a teacher or a reference to a teacher or an advanced student with
whom to study.

Sincerely

Comments are closed.

