Full Boehm Part II

Hi,

I was searching the web for info and ran across your reference in an email to the fact that you had a Full Boehm and sold it. Here is my situation:

At a recent music store going-out-of-business auction, I picked up a new (maybe a few folks had tried it over the years) Selmer 10S Full Boehm. The price was just a little more than what one would pay for a student horn (and I got a perfect Series 9 at the same price for much less). As a sax player that doubles often, should I make the 10S my primary horn and sell off the Series 9 I now play plus the new one or is it better to hang on to this instrument as an investment? I love all the extra sax-type fingerings but need to keep my “investment” perspective clear.

Regards,

Hank

PS: I’m a former HS band director and am still a working jazz musician

Hi and thanks for your news and about your new Full Boehm Selmer 10S. I have the very same instrument , but it is a Mazzeo System, brand new, given to me by Selmer Canada.

I was very happy and surprised to receive it and it turned out to be really a superb instrument. I had it modified somewhat by a superb young technician in Montreal who later died tragically of a brain tumor. In any event it is a great clarinet. I will mention the modification briefly. The high A key on the Mazzeo system offers much more resistance than an ordinary Boehm system, simply because it opens the basic spring for the Mazzeo setup. I had Daniel make a type of ingenious release so that I could use the clarinet without that dreadful back-pressure. It was not for technical purposes, but a particular legato passage in the Copland sextet that was difficult to negotiate with total smoothness. Anyway, the job he did was uncanny.

As to your new acquisitions, congratulations. The 10S was not in circulation for a long time and, as I remember it, came right after the Selmer 10G, or simultaneously. This was a clarinet that was quite good, and the G was for Gigliotti, who was then principal in Philly.

It had Moennig barrels with rubber inserts that were terrific, silver plated keys, and was a fine instrument. The 10S had some minor modifications, and was not such a Buffet clone as I recall. Since I was a clinician for Selmer for perhaps 25 years, I played and owned all of these instruments at some time, and still have the original Full Boehm Selmer Mazzeos that Rosario used in the Boston Symphony that he graciously gave to me. I have no idea as to the worth of your full Boehm; certainly it would need adjustment and repadding to an extent. It certainly would be fine to try, however it is most probably, in real terms, worth about what you paid.

Thanks and very nice to hear from you.

Most sincerely and cordially, and with the best for the New Year

Comments are closed.

