Articulated G# Utilization

Dear Sherman,

I’ve always been fascinated by the full boehm clarinets. Until recently I’d only seen photos. I recently acquired a 1930 Selmer full boehm on eBay (cheap). The “A” key is missing and it will require full restoration. I’ve read your articles on the full boehm and I was wondering if there are any publications or method books out there with exercises for learning how to use the articulated G#?

I really enjoy your corner – so much information! I’ve played since 5th grade a long time ago and studied with Michelle Zukovsky for 2 years. I never went pro but I sure do enjoy the clarinet.

Thanks so much, John Whittington

I have heard many times that an improvement whether it be a key, a so-called “extra key” or a fingering or even a mouthpiece should immediately be an improvement over the previous “way”.

This is especially true of the articulated G#. Articulated g# is immediately an improvement and it becomes easier.

Try to keep the key open in all pieces where there are three or more sharps in the key signature, meaning that the G# will open each time it is passed in the music.

For music not in conventional keys, the process will become automatic as your eye becomes accustomed to the notes on the page, you will automatically open the spatule at the proper place and then, when it comes, you will get the G#.

It is as simple as that. No special studies or exercises are needed.

The only problem one may encounter is a key that may become out of adjustment, however they very seldom become difficult in this way.

Comments are closed.

