Metal Clarinets Pt. II

I purchased a metal clarinet from a pawn shop for $50 – with a spring repair and a new mouthpiece the total cost was about $75. Well, the man doing the repair said I should turn it into a lamp! It is a silver horn because of the tarnish and the brand is Somco, made in the US. Other than that I know nothing about the horn. Please enlighten me on what I bought and should I turn it into a lamp?

Hi!

The next time you do something like buy a clarinet in a pawn shop and then let them charge you 25 dollars for a repair, why not just drop the money into a box at church or synagogue?

Do NOT turn it into a lamp. A metal clarinet turned into a lamp will fall over because the bell of the clarinet is not wide enough to support the clarinet-lamp unless you plan to have lamp always on its side, which would make for a fairly dumb lamp!

I have been a clarinetist for exactly a half-century and I know … besides I am the oldest man in the world.

Let me tell you a story, a true story. All my stories are true:

When I yearned to become a player of this noble instrument at the age of 15, I asked my parents for clarinet lessons. They felt willing to give me clarinet lessons, but as to the purchase of an instrument, (and this is true) my mother said that I should write to a Mr. Benny Goodman, and I should ask him for one of his old ones.

Later in life I met Mr. Goodman and we had a pleasant chat about that beginning of mine.

What do you think of that?

Only my mother would say that to a child, may she rest in peace. Anyway, I will write a better response than this, which is meant only to amuse, not to hurt your feelings.

Do NOT purchase something you know nothing about. If it is really .925 sterling silver, sell it for scrap. It may fetch you almost what you paid, but I do not think so.

Comments are closed.

